Solo Trip to Portland, Maine — Part Two

Meandering Mandy
3 min readJul 20, 2023

--

On Sunday morning of my Portland, Maine solo adventure, I woke up and took the bus into the city. I purchased donuts at Holy Donut and ate them on a pier next to a section of the Berlin Wall. Holy Donuts are made from rice potatoes and are quite delicious! I can’t remember what two flavors I tried, but I am pretty sure one of them was a dark chocolate sea salt donut!

I then walked to the Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad and Museum. I purchased a coach class ticket for an approximately 40 minute ride on a historic train up the coast of Maine. At the half-way point, we were allowed to get off the train and take photos of the train and the coast. We then got back on and rode back the way we came towards the museum. The museum was basically the train itself. I do not recall seeing any museum-like exhibits. Online, I learned that the rails were 2 feet apart; standard rails are placed 4 feet apart. Afterwards, I walked around the Old Port area of Portland to shop for souvenirs and eat lobster rolls!

On Monday, I took the bus to the Long Wharf to board a boat for the Lucky Catch Lobster Tour! I learned more about lobsters and the lobster trade. We rode through the Atlantic Ocean, and I got to see the Portland Head Light from the water. I didn’t get to hold any lobsters, but I did get to help measure a caught lobster! Since it was too small, it had to go back into the ocean to grow more and get caught later. I did get to hold a crab and a starfish!

I then ate a lobster roll at the Portland Lobster Company. A few people from our tour had purchased lobsters from the boat and took them to this restaurant to be cooked for them to eat! I then took a tour on a trolley around Portland to learn more about its history and its architecture. I walked around Portland some more, shopped, and ate more lobster rolls. Highroller Lobster Company and Duckfat both had really good lobster rolls. I wish I had taken a photo of each one! They were each good in their own ways.

I really enjoyed my solo trip of Portland, Maine, and I was able to cross another state off my list!

Although it was very hot, which wasn’t too pleasant. The hotel was quite expensive, as were the lobster rolls. The lobster rolls were worth it though! I would recommend that other travelers not spend three full days in Portland; you could definitely spend just two full days and be able to see everything that is worth seeing. Overall, Portland was lovely, and the scenery was beautiful!

--

--

Meandering Mandy

Hello! I am a young woman living in Indiana who loves to travel and share my stories with the world!