Road Trippin’ — Seeing the Sights Pass Me By

Meandering Mandy
2 min readAug 19, 2023

--

While I am on a road trip, whether in the driver’s seat or in the passenger’s seat, I enjoy seeing the scenery pass me by. It is calming to see the fields, trees, and towns pass by. Sometimes, it can get a bit boring if it’s especially flat and monotonous. However, when I drive in the mountainous areas of the country, I am begging for flat and straight roads! It is easier to drive on flat and straight roads.

It is nice to see the scenery whizz by. I like seeing all of the trees, as well as see how different cities are laid out. I like looking out when we drive over bridges. I like to see if the water level is high or not.

I find it fun to see the signs pass by of towns, cities, and streets. I wish I could remember some of the funny names of cities and streets that I have seen! I remember that in Hobart, Indiana, there are street names based off of the streets in the Monopoly game! It’s also funny to see cities named after foreign countries or famous foreign cities. There are towns in the state of Indiana named Peru, Mexico, and Brazil! There are also several cities with the same name throughout the country. I feel like some of these city founders just had a writer’s block and couldn’t come up with a unique name!

I become nervous when driving in a city since everyone around us seems to know the roads better. Everyone is driving fast and weaving in and out of traffic. I prefer driving in smaller towns or on open highways that are of course on flat ground! Sometimes I prefer taking road trips than flying because you can drive at your own pace and stop when you want to. Also, you have more of a chance to see the sights and scenery around you as you travel from one place to the next!

--

--

Meandering Mandy

Hello! I am a young woman living in Indiana who loves to travel and share my stories with the world!